Horse News

NY Times Climbs into Bed with BLM, AGAIN

OpEd by R.T. Fitch ~ Author/President of Wild Horse Freedom Federation

Times Addicted to BLM Spin Elixir

The Times did it, AGAIN!?!?

If you want to get the straight poop on what’s happening to the last of our native wild equines on the public lands of the Western United States, don’t open up the New York Times.  The Times have been hacking at the Wild Horses over the past several weeks, from featuring a flowery and nonfactual article on the Bureau of Land Management’s (BLM) new Wild Horse and Burro program manager, Joan Guilfoyle, who didn’t have the energy or kahonies to answer questions from a roomful of scientists and equine professionals the following week, to today’s article on how rough and tough it is for the BLM to manage all of those overpopulating and overgrazing silly wild horses on public lands.  Kiss my backside and bark at the moon, the city boys got it all assbackwards again.

Long and lengthy writer Max Bearax elaborates upon the virtues of the BLM in their efforts to keep things for we stupid tax payers safe on the wide open ranges of our great American west.  The author misquotes facts and numbers as if they were rose petals falling off a bush in a gentle spring shower, how lovely.  And all those “gathers”, why the BLM is helping the horses and preventing them from starving.  Hey Max, you ever been to a BLM wild horse helicopter stampede, have you witnessed the terror, the destruction and even the death…hell no, didn’t think so.  Just passing through and getting a glimpse of the last of our wild horeses not give you a clue as to the politics and corrupt motives that drives the Federal Wild Horse Harvesting Machine as of late.  You would have to actually get out there and crawl around in the dust for a while to even come close to what the war is all about and you aren’t going to get that by sitting on your backside, picking up the phone and calling paid government stooges, it just ain’t gonna work.

And who are all of the kind and wonderful quotes  sprinkled through-out the article from; why BLM employees Ben Noyes and the ever pleasant and open-minded Ms. Debbie Collins, gag me with spoon, pa-leese!!!

It simply amazes me that alleged mainstream media continuously misses the mark on quantified and qualified reporting while embracing the inane and politically motivated whitewashing from the U.S. government, no wonder the country is in an uproar and occupying Wall Street, maybe a few Equine Advocates out to be there too so that the likes of the Times listens to the truth, checks their facts and pulls their head out out of the collective asses before publishing any more fish wrapper grade paper.  It all stinks.

I am neither in the mood nor of the inclination to taint this online publication with more stupidity, we have had enough over the past several days.  But if you are interested in entering a fairy tale world of pretty flowers and cute little wild ponies prancing around to the tune of Debbie Collins singing “Tomorrow” in the background you can read it all for yourself by clicking, (HERE)…and don’t forget to comment, it won’t be difficult as your fingers will begin doing the walking long before your eyes finish the fairy tale.  But for me, I have already said my piece and am headed back to the coffee pot for another jolt of lukewarm black java, but this time I might drop in a stiff hit of Jack Black and head out to the barn…I need a reality fix, and quick.

27 replies »

  1. You can imagine how frustrated I feel being a native New Yorker and wild horse advocate. Surprisingly and unfortunately, most people from NY remain insulated from most issues that go on out West. I was at a party this summer and spoke with my friend’s husband. I was telling him about our wild ones and he said “why do you care so much about the horses, they’re way out West.” I wanted to clobber him!. As far as the NY Times goes, (and I do read it) they remain aloof from things that really don’t concern them. Makes me mad as hell.

    Like

  2. There should be real shame for such slipshod article writing. I will not give this credibility by calling it reporting. It is simply BLM stats set to a fairy tale. I prefer the Brothers Grimm myself.

    Like

  3. THIS IS SICK. IT STARTS OF WITH AN ARTICLE I READ 5 YEARS AGO THAT HE HAD WRITTEN. HIS EXPERIENCE WITH THE ARTICLE HAD TO BE BACK IN THE 40-50 AND HE IS PUSHING IT OUT THERE AGAIN. YOU ARE RIGHT RT HE IS SETTING ON HIS ASS IN HIS OFFICE AND WRITING WHAT THE PEOPLE ARE TELLING HIM. THIS MAN IS NO REPORTER A TRUE REPORTER WOULD BE OUT THERE WRITING THE ACTUAL STORY NOT WIRTING FROM BEHIND A DESK. THIS MAN IS A DESK JOCKEY.

    Like

  4. It seems the good old NYT has got a very, very short memory….this is the same organization that brutalizes Native Peoples, authorizes the rape of our natural resources and has more scandals and being in bed with the entities they are supposed to regulate (BP, looses repeatedly in court w/WWP, etc).

    Like

  5. We should file a lawsuit against the New York Times and the authors of these stories.
    They can’t back up their “facts.”

    Like

  6. “But there you have it.” His printed lesson supplied with BLM dogma fed to the public as science and fact. This is how it’s gonna be–because the agency says so. So he was brainwashed. I support the angry crowds at the “OCCUPY” destinations. I get their anger and frustration. Has the big CHANGE promised by Obama done any good? What change? Where? Occupy BLM.

    Like

  7. RT I’ll have to read later cause I’m already feeling ill.

    But you said something that I did latch onto. That was about camping out at one of these Occupy Wall Street. I see alot of anger. There isn’t just one reason people are there.

    Perhaps when I’m feeling better I’ll see if there is a nearby campground and go grab my spot on the ground. I know I have to do something. Who knows maybe some enterprising soul will interview me and then I can help them to see really what’s going on and not just to follow the government’s take on “gathers” which makes sick just typing the word.

    Like

  8. That was definitely a fairy tale. Like reading a fiction novel with the happy ending. This story, since it’s not a news article, is exactly what the type of people want to read who don’t want to hear the “bad stuff” of the world. The people who say “Oh don’t tell me, I don’t want to know” ! Those are the people who think the world is all rosy and swallow this crap. That’s the kind of person this person who wrote this is.
    I’ll bet those hundreds of thousands of cattle wipe their butts and poop scoop too!
    Another sad one for our horses. Where’s the rebuttal?

    Like

  9. Just more BSSSSSSSSSSS. Can’t take it anymore. I agree with some of the posts. Maybe we should make some signs and participate in all of these demonstrations around the country. I know the Chicago group will be continuing for a few more days. Like I said the media is so bought by others the reporting sucks! If you want to call it that..I don’t buy any papers any longer because it is always slanted. The same applies for some of the information on the internet…God help them if they report the truth! I take it all with a grain of salt.

    Like

  10. Gee, I’m SO happy I don’t read trash from a trash filled paper! It sounds like those from the New York Times are a bunch of brainwashed, uneducated, citified hoosiers!! They don’t know or care about anything “out west”, so they should keep their big, lying mouths shut!

    Like

  11. Completely agree esp since unlike yourself they would fly out and rent a car and hotel using their expense account.

    Like

  12. For shame, New York Times!! You have fallen a long way. Journalism has got a direct connection to truth and I cannot find any in this piece of BLM fluff!

    Occupy BLM, I liker that, Ann!!

    Like

  13. for shame for sure, i will never touch another issue of N Y times. what is wrong with these people. they probably would be the first to order it on the menu. it really sickens me. horses brought us through the dark ages and were used in wars and farms etc etc, are they going to want to eat our next best friends dogs and cats. anyone that could eat a horse is an enemy of mine.

    Like

  14. MSNBC Rev Sharpton (yeah, I know…he can be obnoxious) of Politics Nation says there is a big protest scheduled and named “Jobs and Justice”. I think it’s from NYC to DC. It would be great if a handful of advocates get there with posters/banners demanding JUSTICE for our equines, wild and domestic. I will try to find out more info, but there are protests in many other cities were advocates could go, with posters/banners and demand JUSTICE for our equines.

    Like

  15. I was going to if anyone was going to participate in an Occupy wallstreet event.It is about the 1% of the people who hold most of the wealth in this country. it’s about the role wallstreet played in creating the financial mess this country is in and no one being held responsible for it–and what they are doing even now–but everyone with a complaint is welcome. there are a lot of groups joining in with there own Occupy protests in most every state-if nothing on the local level–I’m sure you can go to OW’s main web page and get info about who to contact in your state. it would be so great to get some of our own advocates out there!!–Media isn’t talking to the evironmentalists though–nothing new there!!

    Like

  16. I want to remind everyone that we can post comments on NY Times articles online by going to the website and the article. I did this and posted a comment similar to several already posted, taking issue with the article and suggesting that the “reporter” be fired. It is certainly frustrating to have this b.s. offered by such a major paper, when the article is not “news” but propaganda for the bullies at the BLM.

    Like

  17. NY Times Is now on the disgraceful journalism List ! To Disgrace Horses with Blatantly misinformation is a Slap in the Face to Journalists who print the Truth…………………..How much did they pay you NY Times to print this obvious trash ????I think a retraction is due to the Horses and the People who read your Paper for insulting the intelligence of your readers,!!!!

    Like

  18. The comments for the article, to the Times say it all, we can only hope someone there will read them. I doubt it, but one can always hope. I didn’t add mine there, it was already very well said, but I placed a letter to the managing editor.

    Like

  19. This NYTimes blogger Max Bearak is a 21-year-old college student whose first posting for the “newspaper of record” was his “What I Did Last Summer” musing on his experience as a “wilderness ranger” in Ely, Nevada this year. http://green.blogs.nytimes.com/2011/09/13/a-wilderness-ranger-at-age-21/.

    Ely, Nevada is odd little corner of the American West just packed with WH&B haters going way back. I bet the local wags bent his ear plenty about the “wild horse problem.” Kid forgot to put on his “critical journalism” thinking cap.

    Like

Care to make a comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.