Equine Rescue

Come Dance with the Horses and Me

Story by Jerry Finch – Founder/President of Habitat for Horses

An Equine Love Story that is truly Straight from the Horse’s Heart

Pete, Jerry Finch, Terry Fitch - Photo by R.T. Fitch

The story that I am about to tell is of a very special horse at the Habitat for Horses ranch named Pete. He was the first horse to come into HfH, bought off the slaughter bound truck at the age of 8 months. The story I heard was that the previous owner wanted him gone so he could put cattle on the pasture.

Shortly after he came to live in my backyard, and while I was on a trip, a terrible storm came through with heavy rains and fierce lighting. One of those bolts hit a power pole next to the house, blowing up the transformer. The noise was too much for a young colt. Pete jumped over the six foot wood fence, breaking a couple of boards in the process, and ended up in the woods where he became entangled in a mess of barbed wire. He fought the wire, trying to get free, and in the process cut a hole completely across his chest down to the bones of his upper legs.

Doc Jenkins kept him alive, despite the numerous objections of others who thought he should be euthanized. Almost a month later, I brought him home from the clinic, there to start the long road to recovery.

This is a story I wrote not all that long ago about his recovery. After reading it you’ll understand why he’s so special to me.

“I’m sorry I’ve been away so long, Pete. Things just became so busy that I haven’t had a chance to stop. I know it’s been a long time, far too long, but I just wanted to say …”

I stood in the pasture with him, standing on the edge of night, unable to continue. I thought of all the days we’ve had, of all the nights we shared, and wondered how my life would have been different if I had not looked into his eyes so many years ago.

Back in those dark days when he first came to me, back when his wounds were so deep, when his desire to give up so raw, I looked into those eyes and told him that as long as he would try, I’d walk beside him. He gave me his trust, his complete love, and to him I gave mine.

And then we danced.

His first steps were full of fear. The pain from his wounds often left him shaking and sweating. His goal was to stand as still as possible, to lie down, perhaps even to drift away into a place where the pain no longer existed. I couldn’t let him. “He has to move,” the vet told me. “Even a little, even a step or two, or otherwise …” It was that close, that small line away from closing down forever.

And so we danced.

One step towards the apple. One small step towards the outstretched handful of feed. “Come to me, Pete,” I’d cry. “Just put your foot out a little. Just once, okay?”

I’d stand beside him, moving one foot at a time, lifting, putting down, lifting another and putting it down, until all four were moved. One step – one very small, weak, reluctant step, and I’d hold him ever so close and cry.

Because he danced with me.

As the days turned to weeks and the weeks turned to months, the wounds slowly closed. While I was gone others told me he would just stand, doing nothing. When I returned and walked into his stall he’d walk with me. We’d turn in circles, go from one side of the stall to the other, back up and do it again. I’d touch the back of his hoof and he’d paw the floor. It was our dance, ever so long, ever so slow, but he moved with me, followed what I wanted him to do, step when he needed to, lift his legs high when I pulled them up and place his head on my shoulders when we were through – so tired, so trusting, so wanting to please.

It took a year to the day before the Doc said that he was ready to leave the stall. “Just as you taught him to walk again, you need to teach him to play, to move gently around the yard. Go very slow, a few minutes at a time, a little longer each day, until his muscles can support him again.”

Pete was almost two years old when he took his first step outside the stall. We went about five feet, then backed up and closed the door. A little more the next day, a little further the next week. Within a month he was spending all day outside, learning how to munch on grass, learning that falling leaves were okay and that frogs and crickets were his friends. We played a dozen intricate games – hide and seek, catch me if you can, you can’t scare me – but more than any other, we danced. I’d stand beside him, holding onto his mane, and walk. I’d touch his hoof with my boot, watch him paw and play like I was pawing, too. His head on my shoulder, I’d swing slowly around in a circle, supposedly teaching him a new sense of balance.

That’s what I’d tell others. That’s how the Doc told me to do it, but it was far more than balance, far more than exercise, far deeper than rehabilitation.

We danced.

When you hold someone very close, when the world goes away and nothing exists but two souls blending into one, swirling and circling into an entwined realm of love, it’s a dance to a music unheard by others. When the heat or the cold no longer matters, when you refuse to let the arguments and battles and problems come barging in, when all is excluded and the two, if only for a moment, become one, the world becomes a ballroom and the emotions becomes the orchestra.

As darkness came last night, I stood in the pasture and held him in my arms. He rested his head ever so gently on my shoulder. I told him how very much I loved him, how he changed my world, how I’ve missed him. My tears fell onto his mane as his head pulled me closer to him …

And then we danced.

Things get so busy in our lives that far too often we don’t take the time to stop and watch the beauty surrounding us. For those volunteers at the ranch, I sometimes ask them to remember why we are here. There isn’t a horse or a human that doesn’t need love, yet I see others, like me, become so busy that they walk through their midst without once reaching out.

Slow down. Listen to the music.

Come dance with the horses and me.

Jerry

Habitat for Horses, Inc.
PO Box 213
Hitchcock, TX 77563
409-935-0277

Bookmark and Share

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

15 replies »

  1. Okay I hadnt had my cry for the day but this sure did it!!! Beautiful story, it has rejuvenated me as I have been reaching the point of despair. Thank you for sharing this and the video, I will be sharing the link too.

    Like

  2. Jerry, this is such a wonderful and touching story of hope, dedication and patience. “Dancing” – I’ve worked with a number of abused and neglected horses at our rescue, but never thought of it as a “dance”. I will from now on.

    BTW – I am sooooo jealous of your facility!

    Like

  3. If some would just take the time to “dance” with their horse!

    I am so lucky to have shared 18 wonderful years dancing with my boy!!

    Mage

    Like

  4. Dancing is what keeps me sane… to let the music of the horse reach my ears and soul – to take the melody of the animal in and share his message and dance… thanks Jerry for this inspiring story to remind us to stop and listen to the notes… and keep connected with the ones we love so much.

    Like

  5. WHY DID YOU POST THIS HERE???? Please repost under a slaughter topic. What you have to say is disgusting, but important. Just not here.

    Like

  6. Thank you for sharing your love story. I know the dance that you describe so eloquently. Those who have the ability to deeply connect with a rescue know love and trust on this level.

    Like

  7. Heartwarming story and lovely video. Thanks you for your work and love for all these horses.

    Like

  8. What a beautiful story. There really is nothing like that trust. Few people get the opportunity to experience that and thank you SO MUCH for sharing it. I also loved the video here “Why we do what we do.” The ranch pictures are wonderful, so thanks to RT and Teri also!!! I would love to visit.

    Like

  9. wonderfull to read about your dance with Pete. The bond, the trust I know what you mean about the dance. No leash, no rope- yet the focus between the 2 feels like a huge chain between your minds.

    Like

  10. Once you feel this love it never stops, no matter how far away you are, no matter where they are. What I have learned from Jerry and RT about men has made me wish there was a world full like you. mar

    Like

  11. I don’t know if people already go to the Animal Rescue Site. They have a click to donate free bowls of food for animals from their underwriters, petitions & info on a number of issues, etc.

    They also have a “Shelter Challenge” each season. Non-profits only. Don’t know if HforH is registered. The summer challenge is coming up. Here’s the link if you want to explore their site:

    http://www.theanimalrescuesite.com/clickToGive/home.faces?siteId=3&ThirdPartyClicks=ERA_041710_ARS_Html

    They send a daily reminder if you allow it in your “trusted sites”, and it’s the first thing I do every day.

    Like

Care to make a comment?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.